2022 Neil Kerley Medal

Congratulations to Hamish Hartlett who was crowned the 2022 Neil Kerley Medalist last Friday night. Hamish had a wonderful season utilising his leadership, communication and AFL experience

It was very special to have Barb Kerley (Neil’s wife), Gail Kerley (Neil’s daughter), Campbell Hossack – (Neil’s grandson) and Leigh Hossack in attendance. It was a fantastic night, to have so many people attend was a beautiful sight. We honour and remember the late great Neil Kerley and the impact he had as an inspirational leader and role model.

Joel Stevens’ breakout season saw him finish runner up, followed by our captain Tom Keough playing vital roles up forward and down back.

Josh Ryan continues to do great things in the community winning the Presidents award for the 4th consecutive time. Kaiden Brand was voted as a player who displayed leadership, team focus, commitment, consistency and work ethic to take home the Grantley Fielke award.

Josh Gore was our leading goal kicker with 28 winning the Roger Luders award. Jackson Edwards was outstanding in his first season with the Bloods coming across from Glenelg FC to win the Sam Suckling Shield.

Tom Morrish played a full season of league footy showcasing his offensive drive and defensive pressure. His great season saw him be awarded the Bill Downs Memorial Trophy – Most Improved.

Kobe Ryan had an exceptional year in the U18 competition, while also playing some League games and featuring in the Reserves team during their finals where he showed his class. Kobe was awarded the Keith Reynolds Memorial Trophy for the Best First Year Player to come up through our junior program.

For the Reserves:

Cade Kennedy took home the Bob Lee Memorial Trophy (Reserves Best & Fairest). Cade is already showing significant signs of a future star for the football club, led by his fantastic leadership skills. He also featured at League level this season and looked right at home.

Reed Stevens was very consistent as a midfielder finishing runner up, while ball magnet Charlie Allan finished 3rd which was a great achievement given he also played a few League games this year.

Dylan McCormick is a player to keep your eye out for next season, winning the Reserves Coaches award for his consistency and improvement round after round. Clayton Gay in his first season was electric up forward proving a difficult match up for the opposition, winning the Reserves Leading Goal Kicker award.

Michael Mattingly took home the Identity award being voted by his teammates as a player who upholds our values and represents the club in professional manner.

We would like to say thank you to all who supported us this season and ride the high and lows with us. We are extremely grateful and can’t wait to start preparing for next year!

Recap of award winners:

Neil Kerley Medal – Hamish Hartlett

Runner Up Neil Kerley Medal – Joel Stevens

3rd Place Neil Kerley Medal – Tom Keough

Presidents Award – Josh Ryan

Grantley Fielke Award – Kaiden Brand

Roger Luders Award – Josh Gore

Sam Suckling Shield – Jackson Edwards

Bill Downs Memorial Trophy – Tom Morrish

Identity Award – Michael Mattingly

Keith Reynolds Memorial Trophy – Kobe Ryan

Bob Lee Memorial Trophy (Reserves Best & Fairest Winner) – Cade Kennedy

Bob Lee Memorial Trophy (Runner Up) – Reed Stevens

Bob Lee Memorial Trophy (3rd Place) – Charlie Allan

Reserves Coaches Award – Dylan McCormick

Reserves Leading Goal Kicker Award – Clayton Gay