U18 Jake Watson Medal

Congratulations to Judd Hansen who was crowned the 2022 Jake Watson Medalist last night (28th of September) with 49 votes. Judd has had a phenomenal season averaging 14 disposals and kicking 26 goals. Not only did Judd win the Jake Watson Medal, he also took home the Corey Siemers Memorial Award which represents the most Outstanding Riverland Player in the West Adelaide Football Club Centre of Excellence.

U18 captain Adam Bunworth had a very good season finishing Runner Up on 47 votes, followed by Key Forward Tom Scully who impressively kicked 50 goals from 14 games on 42 votes.

Tyson Coe took his footy to another level this year and was rewarded with the Herde Family Award for Most Improved Player.

Harry Barnett was a powerhouse in the middle all season won the Best Team Man Award, while Archer Byrne put together a great season winning the Coaches Trophy.

Adam Bunworth led from the front with his courageous acts and team first approach, receiving the Big Bloods (Values) Award. Will Patton was the deserving winner of the Knott/Mitchell Memorial Scholarship which represents – First Year U18 Player with Outstanding Potential & Character.

Not only is it a night to acknowledge all the award winners and speak about the current season, but its also a night we pay tribute to Jake Watson, Ben Mitchell, Glenn Knott and Corey Siemers of the contribution they made at the West Adelaide Football Club.

A very successful night, we look forward to the U18 2023 season.

Recap of award winners:

Jake Watson Medal – Judd Hansen

Runner Up Jake Watson Medal – Adam Bunworth

3rd Place Jake Watson Medal – Thomas Scully

Coaches Award – Archer Byrne

Herde Family Award (Most Improved) – Tyson Coe

Best Team Man – Harry Barnett

Corey Siemers Memorial Award (Most Outstanding Riverland Player) – Judd Hansen

Big Bloods (Values) Award – Adam Bunworth

Knott/Mitchell Memorial Scholarship – Will Patton


Most Improved Award winner – Tyson Coe