WAFC History

  • Club History

    A club with a colourful history, West Adelaide was formed around 1892 wearing red, white and blue switching to the old Adelaide Football club colours of red and black when it joined the South Australian Football Association in 1897.

    Includes club records & facts.

  • Premierships

    The club won two parklands premierships prior to 1897 and has since collected nine SANFL League premierships. Added to these highlights are two Champions of Australia titles against Essendon and Carlton, 2 SANFL Cup Premierships 1985 & 1987 and the first SANFL club to win the National Foxtel Cup premiership in 2013

    Includes 1983 & 2015 teams

  • Medalists

    Boasting 14 Magarey Medal winners and 136 State Players, the Bloods also lay claim to some of the greatest names in SA Football history. Club legends like Dick Head, Bruce McGregor, Neil Kerley and Brian Faehse donned the Red and Black. We have a 4 time Ken Farmer Medallist in Adam Richardson and the club holds the honour of having the first Brownlow Medal winner from SA in Bernie Smith. This award has since been won by Westies Adam Cooney and of course Mark Ricciuto.

    Includes Magarey Medalists, SANFLW Best & Fairest, Ken Farmer Medalists, Jack Oatley Medalists, Fos Williams Medalists & Neil Kerley Medalists.

  • Hall of Fame

    Includes Hall of Fame & Legends Members

  • AFL / VFL Players

    Includes all WAFC players who have played AFL or VFL

  • Life Members

    View all WAFC Life Members

  • Debut Dates

    Current as of end of 2023

  • Team of the Centuries

    Presented in 2018

    In 2017 the South Australian National Football League, which is the oldest codified football competition in Australia, celebrated 140 years of operation while the West Adelaide Football Club celebrated its 125th birthday, being established some time in 1892 before joining the SANFL in 1897. 2017 was also the anniversary of our 1927 and 1947 premierships.

    To celebrate these milestones, the WAFC waited for the completion of our 125th year of competition and selected a Team of the Centuries.