West End State Squad announced for KIA State Game

Sponsored by


A 26-player West End State squad has been released, with as many as nine debutantes a chance to play in the KIA State Game against the WAFL in Perth on Sunday. 

SANFL Chairman of Selectors Tim Ginever has included 13 new faces in the squad to face the Sandgropers at Optus Stadium after defeating the VFL by 14 points last month.

Woodville-West Torrens premiership defender Luke Beecken, Norwood trio Billy Cootee, Tom Donnelly and Matt Ling, Sturt pair Connor McFadyen and Amos Doyle, West midfielder Kobe Ryan, Glenelg utility Riley Holder and Central defender Brinn Little could don the cherished red guernsey for the first time.

Experienced quartet Chris Curran (Glenelg), Eamon Wilkinson (South) and North Adelaide pair Mitch Harvey and Campbell Combe have also been called upon to retain the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup with a fifth successive win against the WAFL.

Among the players unavailable for selection are Glenelg’s Liam McBean (hamstring) and Lachie Hosie (broken hand), Eagle Riley Knight (calf), Bulldogs midfielder Harry Grant (knee), West defender Josh Ryan (hamstring), as well as Norwood ruckman Harry Boyd and Sturt rover Will Snelling.

West End State team coach Jade Rawlings will put his team through its paces at training on Tuesday (Alberton) and Thursday (West Lakes) before the team flies out on Saturday for the contest at 2.15pm SA time, which will be the curtain-raiser to the West Coast v Melbourne AFL match.

The KIA State Game will be screened live and free via SANFL Now and AFL Live Official App and AFL.com.au

Norwood’s Matt Ling could be among the debutante’s to line up with the West End State Team against the WAFL. Picture – Peter Argent

West End State Squad

Aiden Grace Central District
Brinn Little Central District
Jez McLennan Central District
Matt Allen Glenelg
Chris Curran Glenelg
Riley Holder Glenelg
Luke Reynolds Glenelg
Corey Lyons Glenelg
Campbell Combe North Adelaide
Mitch Harvey North Adelaide
Frank Szekely North Adelaide
Harrison Wigg North Adelaide
Billy Cootee Norwood
Tom Donnelly Norwood
Matt Ling Norwood
Baynen Lowe Norwood
Mitch O'Neill Norwood
Eamon Wilkinson South Adelaide
Will Coomblas Sturt
Connor McFadyen Sturt
Casey Voss Sturt
Amos Doyle Sturt
Kobe Ryan West Adelaide
Luke Beecken Woodville-West Torrens
James Rowe Woodville-West Torrens
Joseph Sinor (C) Woodville-West Torrens