Selectors name West End State Team to face VFL


A 25-player squad has been named for the West End State Team’s first AAMI State Game with the VFL in eight years at Stratarama Stadium on Saturday.

To be coached by last year’s victorious mentor Jade Rawlings, the Croweaters last confronted the Big V in fine style with a victory at Adelaide Oval in 2016.

The 2024 squad selection – led by West End State Team Chairman of Selectors Tim Ginever – has 7 of the competition’s 10 clubs represented, with reigning premier Glenelg headlining the list with seven players.

Tigers midfielder Corey Lyons would be the only one chosen from Brighton Road to make his debut with Liam McBean, Lachie Hosie, Luke Reynolds, Max Proud, Matt Allen and Darcy Bailey also boasting plenty of knowledge on how the venue will play from 12.40pm.

Central pair Harry Grant and Aiden Grace, North Adelaide defender Karl Finlay and Norwood trio Jack Heard, Jackson Callow and Baynen Lowe would be the others to pull on the treasured red guerney for the first time.

The Croweaters will train at Stratarama Stadium on Tuesday and Thursday evening this week, with the captains to be announced mid-week, followed by the final 23 to take the field.

Assisting Rawlings in the coaching box will be Glenelg premiersip mentor Darren Reeves, North Adelaide coach Jacob Surjan and South Adelaide assistant coach Jarrad Parker.

The Croweaters boast an admirable record against their Victorian foes, winning six of their past seven meetings with their only loss coming in 2002 at the Adelaide Oval.

It will be the first of two State clashes in 2024, with the West End State team gunning for its fifth win in succession against the WAFL as it attempts to retain the Haydn Bunton Junior Cup in May at Perth’s Optus Stadium.

Central District

Aiden Grace
Harry Grant
Jez McLennan


Liam McBean
Lachie Hosie
Luke Reynolds
Corey Lyons
Matt Allen
Max Proud
Darcy Bailey

North Adelaide

Frank Szekely
Harrison Wigg
Karl Finlay


Harry Boyd
Mitch O’Neill
Jack Heard
Jackson Callow
Baynen Lowe


Will Snelling
Casey Voss
Will Coomblas

West Adelaide

Josh Ryan

Woodville-West Torrens

Joey Sinor
James Rowe
Riley Knight