2022 Torrens University SA U16 Squad


An initial 51-player Torrens University SA U16 squad has been selected ahead of the NAB AFL Under-16 National Championships starting next month.

Featuring a host of father-son prospects, the squad – selected from the eight SANFL clubs – will be trimmed to 30 after an internal trial match on Saturday June 11.

Coached by Julian Farkas, the Torrens University SA U16 team will play three Championship matches, two in Adelaide and one on the Gold Coast.

South Australia will begin its campaign against Western Australia at Thebarton Oval on Sunday June 26 before tackling Victoria Metro at the home of the Suns, Metricon Stadium, on Tuesday July 5.

A final contest will be played at Thebarton Oval against Victoria Country on Saturday July 9.

Among the familiar surnames in the squad are the sons of Central District premiership pair Luke McCabe and Stuart Cochrane, with Will McCabe and Thomas Cochrane joining six other Bulldogs in the squad.

Glenelg’s Camporeale twins – Lucas and Ben – are the sons of Woodville-West Torrens wingman Scott Camproeale while North’s Tom Tasker is aiming to follow the same path as his dad Sean at Prospect.

Sturt midfielders Ned Atkinson, son of Magarey Medallist Brodie Atkinson, and Connor Mills, son of South Adelaide’s Trent Mills, North’s Louie Montgomery, son of Power premiership defender Brett Montgomery and Woodville-West Torrens’ Tyler Welsh, son of former Crow Scott Welsh, are also in the mix to play in the national tournament.

Training begins on Tuesday May 31 at Thebarton Oval, with Farkas to be assisted in the coaches box by Clay Sampson, Dave Reynolds, Brett Hudson and SANFL’s Tony Bamford as Coaches assistant.

2022 Torrens University SA U16 Squad

Player SANFL Club
Will McCabe Central
Thomas Cochrane Central
Mitchell McDonald Central
Lachlan Giles Central
Beau Ryan Central
Charlie Nicholls Central
Riley McDonald Central
Dyson Sharp Central
Harrison Ramm Glenelg
Lucas Camporeale Glenelg
Ben Camporeale Glenelg
Archer Rouvray Glenelg
Kallan Bevan Glenelg
Tom Tasker North
Louie Montgomery North
Evan Bradley North
Blake Oudshorn-Bennier North
PJ Carlin North
Anthony Mustaca Norwood
Noah Daw Norwood
Jacob Newton Norwood
Jay Polkinghorne Norwood
Levi Johnston Norwood
Sid Draper South
Benny Barrett South
Harrison Pope South
Jake Agnew South
Ryan Borlace South
Noah Howes South
Phoenix Hargrave South
Wil Thomas Sturt
Samuel Waltham Sturt
Cameron Kelly Sturt
Ned Atkinson Sturt
Connor Mills Sturt
Kobee Dabinett Sturt
Jasper Maher Sturt
Alex Dodson Sturt
Samuel Burbridge West
Xavier Mayes West
Noah Baker West
Carter Wright West
Angus Liebich West
Tom Luck Woodville-West Torrens
Harry Dodd Woodville-West Torrens
Charlie West Woodville-West Torrens
Isaac Edwards Woodville-West Torrens
Jett Hasting Woodville-West Torrens
Tyler Welsh Woodville-West Torrens
Kade Herbert Woodville-West Torrens
Lachlan Sands Woodville-West Torrens